Redfish Regulations For Each State

Redfish Regulations By State

Each States Laws & Regulations To Protect Redfish

Redfish are a highly sought after inshore species. Anglers from all over will visit the coast every year to try their luck at catching one. They not only provide such a great fight, but they are a great inshore fish to eat. It is because of this popularity that back in 1987 President George Bush Sr. introduced legislation specifically to protect the redfish. Redfish regulations will vary from state to state. Knowing the correct laws will help you avoid fines and tickets and keep you from breaking any laws. A smarter angler is our overall goal. Let us take a look at each state more in-depth and provide all anglers with a brief guide for the regulations of their local waters.

Redfish Regulations For Each State

Knowing these regulations for the state you are fishing will help you avoid trouble and keep money in your pocket. Each state allows for different sizes and quantity of redfish you are allowed to keep. If you ever ask yourself, "How many redfish am I allowed to keep? or "What is the slot size for redfish?" then we hope you find this very informative.

1) Alabama Redfish Regulations:

Redfish are found on the coast of Alabama. Fishing the Gulf of Mexico for redfish is often rewarding. Here are the currents regulations for catching redfish in Alabama to help all anglers avoid fines. 

Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Website:

https://www.outdooralabama.com/fishing/saltwater-fishing-creel-and-size-limits

License:

Saltwater fishing license is required for anyone older than 16 but younger than 65.

License Alabama Louisiana Florida All Other States
Annual 23.35 90.10 48.45 49.95
Trip 9.80 27.70 30.10 27.70
Pier 6.20 11.40 11.40 11.40
Spear Fishing 6.00 8.50 8.50 8.50
Disabled 3.00 N/A N/A N/A

Break Down Of Alabama Fishing License Prices

Once you have your fishing license it is best to know the redfish creel limits. These limits let you know how many redfish you can keep and how big they must be.

  • Daily Limit: 3
  • Minimum size: 16″ to 26″

**Sportsmen can keep one fish over the 26-inch limit per day out of the 3 total reds allowed per day.**

Redfish Season: All Year

Updated Alabama Redfish Regulation: May 2017.

2) Georgia Redfish Regulations:

Fishing the Georgia coast for redfish is something many anglers do. The inshore fishing is some of the best in the country. Protecting the redfish is something that all anglers should worry about.  Here are the currents regulations for catching redfish in Georgia to help all anglers avoid fines. 

Georgia Department of Natural Resources Website:

http://www.marinefishesofgeorgia.org/popular-sportfish/red-drum.html

License:

A saltwater fishing license is required in the state of Georgia. A free Saltwater Information Permit is additionally required to fish in salt water. 

Saltwater Fishing License

(Resident: 16–64, Nonresident: 16+)

Annual

 

Resident

$15.00

Non-Resident

$50.00

https://georgia.gov/popular-topic/fishing-licenses

The Georgia limit for redfish is one of the highest of the east coast. This allows for anglers to harvest more fish.

  • Daily Limit: 5
  • Minimum size: 14″ to 23″

Redfish Season: All Year

Updated Georgia Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

3) Florida Redfish Regulations: (Harvest in federal waters prohibited)

Redfish Fishing in Florida can be done all year. Many anglers will try their luck. Knowing the proper Florida redfish regulations can save you a hassle and money in the long run. Here are the rules and regulations for catching redfish in Florida to help all anglers avoid fines. 

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission:

http://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/red-drum/

License:

Saltwater fishing license is required for all anglers.

Florida resident saltwater licenses

One-Year Saltwater License $17.00
Covers both watercraft and shoreline fishing
Youth Saltwater Fishing License — valid until 17th birthday $17.00
Five-Year Saltwater License $79.00
One-Year Saltwater Shoreline License $0.00
Covers saltwater fishing from shorelines and attached structures. Does not cover fishing from a watercraft, fishing from a shoreline reached by watercraft, or fishing while swimming or diving.

Non-resident saltwater licenses

Three-day Saltwater License $17.00
Seven-day Saltwater License $30.00
One-Year Saltwater License $47.00

 

The Florida redfish regulations depend on the zones you fish in. Know your zone and know how many you can keep.

 

Regulations Northeast Zone Northwest Zone South Zone
Minimum Size Limit Not less than 18" no more than 27" total length  
Daily Bag Limit 2 fish per person per day; 8 fish vessel limit 1 per person per day; 8 fish vessel limit 1 fish per person per day; 8 fish vessel limit
Remarks

Bag limits apply in areas adjacent to fishing sites such as docks and parking lots

6 fish per person transport limit applies when traveling in a vehicle on land away from a fishing site.

Must remain in whole condition until landed ashore

Commercial harvest prohibited

 

Gear requirements:

  • Legal Gear:  hook and line, cast nets
  • Illegal Gear: Spearing (includes spearfishing, gigging and bowfishing) and/or use of multiple hooks in conjunction with live or dead natural bait is prohibited
  • Full-text redfish law – download PDF here. Florida Redfish Laws Full Text-68B-22

Red Drum Management Zones

 Redfish Zone Map

FWC Redish Management Zones.

  • Northwest: Escambia through Fred Howard Park Causeway near Pasco County
  • South: Fred Howard Park Causeway through Monroe County (west coast) and Miami-Dade through Volusia counties (east coast)
  • Northeast: Flagler through Nassau counties

Redfish Season: All Year

Updated Florida Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

4) Louisiana Redfish Regulations:

Fishing for redfish in Louisiana is something all anglers should do once in their life. There are so many great areas on the coast that hold redfish. Here are the Louisiana redfish regulations to help anglers avoid fines.

Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries:

http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/fishing/saltwater-finfish

License:

A saltwater fishing license is required for all anglers.

License Type

Resident Fee

Nonresident Fee

Hook and Line (cane pole)1

$2.50

Basic Fishing

$9.50

$60

Saltwater (Basic Fishing License required)

$13

$30

Nonresident Basic Trip (1 day)

$5

Nonresident Saltwater Trip (1 day)

$17.50

Nonresident Saltwater Season (Basic Fishing License required)

$30

Senior Hunting/Fishing2

$5

Louisiana Sportsman’s Paradise3

$100

Charter Passenger4 (3 day)

$10

$10

Charter Skiff5 (3 day)

$30

 

Knowing the Louisiana limit is something that all saltwater anglers in La must know.

  • Daily Limit: 5
  • Minimum size: 16″ to 27″

No more than one redfish over 27” max total length

Bag Limit Rules: Recreational saltwater anglers may possess a two day’s bag limit of red drum on land; however, no person shall be in possession of over the daily bag limit of red drum in any one day or while fishing or while on the water, unless that recreational saltwater angler is aboard a trawler engaged in commercial fishing for a consecutive period of longer than 25 hours.

Catching or possession of redfish in federal waters is prohibited.

Redfish Season: All Year

Updated Louisiana Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

5) Mississippi Redfish Regulations:

Mississippi does not have the largest coastline, but you can still catch your share of redfish. Knowing the Missippi redfish regulations will help you avoid any trouble while fishing in MS.

Mississippi Department Of Marine Resources:

http://www.dmr.ms.gov/index.php/recreational-fishing/recreational-catch-limits

License:

In Mississippi, it is required to possess a fishing license when saltwater fishing.

Resident Licenses Price Agent Fee Process Fee
Sportsman's License
Does not include saltwater fishing.
$45.00 $1.00 $1.29
All Game Hunting/Freshwater Fishing
Does not include Archery/Primitive Weapon/Crossbow.
$25.00 $1.00 $1.29
Small Game Hunting/Freshwater Fishing $10.00 $1.00 $1.29
3-Day Freshwater Fishing $3.00 $1.00 $1.29
Saltwater Fishing $10.00 $1.00 $1.29
Senior Lifetime Saltwater License - age 65 and over. $5.00 $1.00 $1.29
Non-Resident Licenses Price Agent Fee Process Fee
Armed Forces 14-Day Hunting/Fishing
Must apply through MDWFP - Application. (Includes Fall Turkey and Archery/Primitive Weapon/Crossbow. Does not include Saltwater Fishing)
$33.00 $0 $1.29
Freshwater Fishing
$60.00 $3.00 $1.29
3-Day Freshwater Fishing $15.00 $2.00 $1.29
1-Day Freshwater Fishing $8.00 $1.00 $1.29
Saltwater Fishing $30.00 $3.00 $1.29
3-Day Saltwater Fishing $15.00 $2.00 $1.29

 

Mississippi has one of the biggest slots for redfish. This allows for anglers to keep bigger fish up to 30".

  • Daily Limit: 3
  • Minimum size: 18″ to 30″

Recreational fishermen may keep only one Redfish over 30 inches in total length.

Check out the Mississippi Guide to Saltwater Fishing for additional reading  PDF here.

Redfish Season: All Year unless posted

Updated Mississippi Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

6) North Carolina Redfish Regulations:

Fishing the waters of North Carolina can produce some of the biggest redfish around. Knowing the laws will help you avoid issues with your local DNR officers.

North Carolina Environmental Department:

http://portal.ncdenr.org/web/mf/recreational-fishing-size-and-bag-limits

License:

Resident Fishing - Annual Cost


Inland Fishing (basic)
Statewide inland fishing during a license term. Includes fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters. Additional privilege licenses.
 

$20


Comprehensive Inland Fishing
Statewide inland fishing for residents during a license term. Includes fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters.
 

$25

Special Inland Fishing Devices
Authorizes the taking of nongame fishes from inland waters (does not include joint and coastal waters) during designated seasons with seines, cast nets, gill nets, dip nets, bow nets, reels, gigs, spear guns, baskets, fish pots, eel pots, traps, and hand-crank electrofishers where authorized by local law. Includes the sale of these nongame fishes. Taking of nongame fishes with archery equipment is authorized under any of the licenses providing basic hunting or inland fishing privileges. Certain special devices may be used to take nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption using any valid license that provides basic inland fishing privileges.
 
$75

Coastal Recreational Fishing
Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters during a license term. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.
 
$15

Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License
Statewide inland and coastal recreational fishing for residents during a license term. Includes the privileges of fishing in Public Mountain Trout Waters, fishing in trout waters on game lands, and fishing in joint waters.
 
$40
Non-Resident Fishing - Annual Cost

Inland Fishing (basic)
Statewide inland fishing during a license term. Includes fishing in joint waters. It does not include fishing in coastal waters. Additional privilege licenses.

$36

Special Inland Fishing Devices
Authorizes the taking of nongame fishes from inland waters (does not include joint and coastal waters) during designated seasons with seines, cast nets, gill nets, dip nets, bow nets, reels, gigs, spear guns, baskets, fish pots, eel pots, traps, and hand-crank electrofishers where authorized by local law. Includes the sale of these nongame fishes. Taking of nongame fishes with archery equipment is authorized under any of the licenses providing basic hunting or inland fishing privileges. Certain special devices may be used to take nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption using any valid license that provides basic inland fishing privileges.

$500

Coastal Recreational Fishing
Authorizes fishing in coastal and joint waters during a license term. It does not authorize fishing in inland waters.

$30

 

North Carolina has one of the smallest limits for east coast states. They only allow anglers to keep 1 slot size redfish.

 

  • Daily Limit: 1
  • Minimum size: 18″ to 27″

 

Redfish Season: All Year 

Updated North Carolina Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

7) South Carolina Redfish Regulations:

South Carolina Department of Natural Resources:

http://www.dnr.sc.gov/regs/saltwaterfish.html

License:

Resident Saltwater Fishing

Duration Type of License Price Notes, Prerequisites
3 Year Saltwater Fishing License $30.00 Valid 3 years from date of purchase.
Annual Saltwater Fishing License $10.00 Valid 1 year from date of purchase.
14-day Saltwater Fishing License $5.00 Valid 14 consecutive days.

Nonresident Saltwater Fishing

Duration Type of License Price Notes, Prerequisites
3 Year Saltwater Fishing License $105.00 Valid 3 years from date of purchase.
Annual Saltwater Fishing License $35.00 Valid 1 year from date of purchase.
14-day Saltwater Fishing License $11.00 Valid 14 consecutive days.

 
Finding redfish in South Carolina is pretty easy. The coast has a ton of inshore land perfect for reds. 

  • Daily Limit: 3
  • Minimum size: 15″ to 23″

 Gigging of redfish from December to February is illegal.

Check out South Carolina State’s Saltwater Fishing Regulations and Tips for more additional reading (PDF)

Redfish Season: All Year 

Updated South Carolina Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

8) Texas Redfish Regulations:

Texas is known for their saltwater fishing. Redfish are found on the coast of Texas. Fishing the inshore waters will usually produce slot-size reds. Here are the currents regulations for catching redfish in Texas to help all anglers avoid fines. 

Texas Parks and Wildlife:

https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/fishing/saltwater-fishing/saltwater-bag-and-length-limits

License:

In order to fish for redfish in Texas all anglers are required to have a fishing license.

Item Item Description Price
231 Resident Freshwater Fishing Package $30.00
232 Resident Saltwater Fishing Package $35.00
233 Resident All Water Fishing Package $40.00
303 Non-Resident Saltwater Fishing Package $63.00
Redfish Tag: One red drum over the stated maximum length limit may be kept when tagged with a completed Red Drum Tag.

 

Fishing for redfish in Texas can be a challenge. Not because they are hard to catch but because their slot size is so narrow. Once you find a school of slot reds, filling your cooler will be easy.

  • Daily Limit: 3
  • Minimum size: 20″ to 28″

Redfish Season: All Year 

Updated Texas Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

9) Virginia Redfish Regulations:

Redfish fishing in Virginia is always a great time. Here are the currents regulations for catching redfish in Virginia to help all anglers avoid fines. 

Virginia Marine Resource Commission:

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/reports/swrecfishingrules.php

License:

Saltwater fishing in Virginia requires all anglers to possess a saltwater fishing license.

Recreational Saltwater Fishing License Fees

 

Individual SW, Resident 

$17.50

Individual SW, Nonresident

$25.00

 

Virginia Beach and the Chesapeake Bay area are great places to find redfish. As an angler, knowing the bag limit will allow you to keep the correct number of fish.

  • Daily Limit: 3
  • Minimum size: 18″ to 26″

Redfish Season: All Year 

Updated Virginia Redfish Regulation: 2018. 

An angler that knows his state redfish regulations is one that truly cares about the waters he fish. These laws and regulations were put into place to protect the reds and keep them around for future generations. It is our duty to make sure they are not overfished. If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please feel free to leave us a comment below or email us at info@HFDepot.com. Maybe we missed something in your state with redfish regulations, we would love to hear it and update our blog. We would also love to see all of your bull red catches so make sure you send us all your great catches to be featured on our social media pages. Make sure to check out our Redfish Species page for other great redfish blogs. Find informative information on fishing for bull reds this fall, beginners guide for catching redfish, and amazing redfish recipes. Don't forget to get stocked with our redfish jigs and lures for your next fishing trip. Learn your redfish regulations and prevent any unnecessary fines and tickets.

Previous article Sheepshead State Records
Next article Redfish State Records

Leave a comment

* Required fields

Sale

Unavailable

Sold Out